2019-2020 School of Foreign Languages Academic Calendar

SCHOOL OF FOREIGN LANGUAGES ENGLISH PREPARATORY PROGRAM
2019-2020  ACADEMIC CALENDAR
FALL TERM
DATE DAY ACTIVITY
August 20, 2019 Tuesday  English Proficiency Exam & Announcement of Results on the Internet (For undergraduate transfer students) –
Written Exam: 09:00; Speaking Exam: 13:30 
Place: Beşiktaş South Campus
September 8, 2019 Sunday English Placement Test (For all newly registered students - both Turkish Citizens and International Students)                             
Time:10:00     Place: Beşiktaş South Campus  
September 10, 2019 Tuesday  Announcement of English Placement Exam results on the Internet 
September 11, 2019 Wednesday English Proficiency Exam (For Ss who have been successful in the English Placement Exam and Ss who have attended the English Preparatory Program in the previous year(s) and have not yet completed the program successfully)
Written Exam: 09:00; Speaking Exam: 13:30; 
Place: Beşiktaş South Campus
September 13, 2019 Friday Announcement of English Proficiency Exam results on the Internet 
September 16, 2019 Monday Classes start for all students of vocational school and undergraduate programs   
September 17, 2019 Tuesday  English Preparatory Program Fall Semester (Module 1) - Classes start 
October 2, 2019 Wednesday English Proficiency Exam  (Erasmus & World Exchange)
October 29, 2019 Tuesday Republic Day
November 10, 2019 Sunday Commemoration of Atatürk
November 8, 2019 Friday English Preparatory Program Fall Semester (Module 1)-Classes end 
11-14 November 2019 Monday-Thursday End of Module Exams (Module 1)
November 15, 2019 Friday Announcement of End of Module Exam results on the Internet 
November 18, 2019 Monday English Preparatory Program Fall Semester (Module 2) - Classes start
January 1, 2020 Wednesday New Year's Day
January 3, 2020 Friday Preparatory Program Fall Semester - Classes end 
6-9 January 2020 Monday-Thursday End of Module Exams ( Module 2)
January 10, 2020 Friday Announcement of End of Module Exam results on the Internet
January 14, 2020 Tuesday English Proficiency Exam –
Written Exam: 09:00; Speaking Exam: 13:30 
Place: Beşiktaş South Campus
January 17, 2020 Friday Announcement of English Proficiency Exam results on the Internet 
20-24 January 2020 Monday-Friday Module Break
SPRING SEMESTER
DATE DAY ACTIVITY
January 27, 2020 Monday English Preparatory Program Spring Semester (Module 3) - Classes start
January 27, 2020 Monday English Proficiency Exam (For undergraduate transfer students) and the Announcement of the Results
Written Exam: 09:00; Speaking Exam: 13:30 
Place: Beşiktaş South Campus
February 25, 2020 Tuesday English Proficiency Exam  (Erasmus & World Exchange)
March 13, 2020 Friday Preparatory Program Spring Semester ( Module 3) - Classes end 
16-19 March 2020 Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday End of Module Exams (Module 3)
March 20, 2020 Friday  Announcement of End of Module Exam results on the Internet
March 23, 2020 Monday Preparatory Program Spring Semester (Module 4) - Classes start
April 23, 2020 Thursday National Sovereignty and Children's Day
May 1, 2020 Friday International Workers' Day
May 8, 2020 Friday Preparatory Program Spring Semester (Module 4) - Classes end 
11-14 May 2020 Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday End of Module Exams (4. Module)
May 15, 2020 Friday Announcement of End of Module Exam results on the Internet
May 19, 2020 Tuesday Commemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day
May 20, 2020 Wednesday English Proficiency Exam  – 
Written Exam: 09:00; Speaking Exam: 13:30 
Place: Beşiktaş South Campus
May 22, 2020 Friday Announcement of English Proficiency Exam results on the Internet 
24-25-26 May 2020 Sunday-Monday-Tuesday Ramadan Feast
25-29 May Monday-Friday Module Break
SUMMER SEMESTER
DATE DAY ACTIVITY
June 1, 2020 Monday Preparatory Program Summer Semester (Module 5) - Classes start
July 3, 2020 Friday Preparatory Program Summer Semester (Module 5) - Classes end 
6-9 July 2020 Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday End of Module Exams ( Module 5)
July 10, 2020 Friday Announcement of End of Module Exam results on the Internet
July 13, 2020 Monday English Proficiency Exam  – 
Written Exam: 09:00; Speaking Exam: 13:30
Place: Beşiktaş South Campus
July 15, 2020 Wednesday Democracy and National Unity Day (Official Holiday)
July 17, 2020 Friday Announcement of English Proficiency Exam results on the Internet